Always Looking: Pintô Art Museum

Celebrated our 9th month together a day early coz it fell on a Sunday by going to Pintô Art Museum in Antipolo. We’ve always wanted to go to a museum on a date, just so it would be something different. Little did Brod know that I had a mini-activity planned for us while at the museum (tee hee).

Since it was our first time going there, we relied on Waze. (Waze is amazing, haha!) But we almost missed the street leading to the subdivision we were supposed to go to because the sign that said “To Pinto Art Museum” was so small! Not sure if the owners want to keep it a semi-secret, but if they don’t, I hope they put up a bigger sign.

The museum is inside a subdivision, so we had to pay an entrance fee of 20php at the gate. There wasn’t a designated parking area for the musuem, so we just parked on the other side of the street in front of Pintô.

It had been a while since I brought my camera to take pictures, so I was really excited to shoot away especially when I had seen pictures of Pintô shared by my friends who have been here! I was so happy that I could finally take pictures again.

While I brought my camera, Brod had his phone ready.

 

 

The entrance of Pintô hinted on what you can expect once you enter, but believe me, it’s MORE than what you’d expect.

Upon entering, it was like we were transported to a totally different place. Seriously. It was that beautiful. It didn’t feel like I was in Antipolo.

There was this table by the side of the chapel-like structure that had lots of blank sheets of paper and a pen. Near it was a frame with instructions written:

Instructions for the Undelivered Project

Think of the one whom you loved and lost

Take a pen and write an anonymous letter to him or her using the stationery provided

Empty your thoughts

Fold and seal the letter

Deposit the letter in one of the drawers

Let it remain undelivered —

Move on!

I don’t really know the name of this piece, but I’d like to think that it’s Mother Nature.

This is one of my favorite pieces in the entire museum:

Remember I said that I had a mini-activity planned for us that day? I bought small square canvases, paint, and brushes and thought it was appropriate that since we were at a museum, we would celebrate by making art! We took a break from all the walking (we walked around a lot — the place is HUGE), settled on the rooftop of one of the galleries, and started painting.

We kept what we were painting a secret, but it turned out that we had the same idea of what to paint! So funny, though, because Brod ended up looking fat in my masterpiece while I looked quite anorexic in his, hahaha. We gave each other what we had painted as gifts for our 9th month.

The other two pieces that are my favorite:

Look at what those pieces are made of!

We put our mini masterpieces up for display, but I think she was not impressed… Haha!

There was a restaurant/cafe inside Pintô, but we weren’t able to eat there. We left shortly after checking the last gallery because we had to get back to Metro Manila (plus we didn’t want to get caught up in traffic).

Visiting Pintô Art Museum was a really wonderful experience! Everything was just so beautiful! I’ll admit that there were some pieces that I just didn’t get or understand, but it still got me looking and thinking. You don’t need to be knowledgeable in art to appreciate art.

I encourage everyone to visit this museum if you want to go somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of city life!

Check out all of the photos I took from our visit to Pintô Art Museum here:

Leave a Reply

