Manila Supa Jam

What happens when you tell bboys they’ve got the whole club floor to themselves and that no one’s gonna stop ’em from breakin’…? You get to witness bboys (and bgirls) tear up that floor foreal. And that’s exactly what happened last October 6 at Fiamma!

The first one held in Manila, Manila Supa Jam was headed by Rance Paglin (Soulstice/Tha Project/CADs) and Ryo Anijha (Mighty Zulu Kingz Japan/Fresh Sox).

It was a straight up bboy jam. Beats dropped by DJ Wreck-One (who was also a bboy back in the day!) and DJ Arbie Won catered to the bboys and bgirls who came from all over the Philippines (as far as Iloilo!) just to jam. It’s not everyday that the bboy community here gets a fancy venue not to battle, not to smoke someone round after round, but to just break.

That night, it was the bboys’ music that got played in the club. And not a bored sigh was heard in Fiamma for just hearing extended beats bounce off the walls.

Plus it was hard to get bored when there was Reflex keeping everyone entertained, who did his rounds on the floor. He jumped from one cypher to another, having the energy of a… red bull? Hahaha, don’t mind my joke.

Water is good for you.

Trish of 4AM Hustle Productions, Roz, and I. Deej and James covered the event, too.

I missed this community. It felt so nice to see familiar faces! And I honestly was surprised that a lot of people still remember me, even though I’ve been gone for so long. Made me want to get back at it. That familiar vibe was there as I went around to watch different cyphers (there were at most three cyphers going on all at the same time!) and it made me want to train again.

Maybe I will. Oh yeaaaah…

Here’s a giant Puma Suede for you.

I wasn’t able to take a lot of photos. I still don’t own my own speedlite so shooting in low light (almost no light) is hard. So do check out the photos by Trish on the 4AM Hustle page.

Leave a comment